Gwatkin Blakeney Red (SV) Perry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Gwatkin
Perry Name: Blakeney Red (SV)
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 7%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Sweet pears
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 14/11/12

I’ve managed to somehow get through another working day unscathed and my treat for surviving today is a perry. It’s been a while since I last had one, but it’s as good a time as any to get back on that wagon. I’ve opted for the Single-Variety (SV) Blakeney Red perry, which is produced by Gwatkin.

Blakeney Red is probably one of my favourite SV perry pears out there, so I am hoping for good things with this one. Like with most Gwatkin ciders/perries, this is 100% juice and has been matured in oak barrels. So it’s all made the way nature intended it to be, with just the addition of sulphites. All sounding really good so far and can’t wait to try it!

The perry poured with a small head to it and that settled fairly quickly to just a few bubbles drifting in the lovely golden juice. It’s actually quite dark looking for a perry, as I am use to a light straw perry staring back at me. Nothing wrong with that though, as change is always good! Just from having a whiff of this drink, you can tell you will be in for a fairly sweet ride with a deep sweet pear smell coming from the glass.

Now onto the taste and what you get is a sweet pear taste that just hits you straight in the face. Then the sweetness turns into some sourness with mild acidity and you also get an interesting, long-lasting, woody/nutty taste to end with. This isn’t my usual type of drink for sure, as it’s a bit sweeter than I would normally go for, but there’s something about it that just makes me want to have more and I can’t help but give in to those urges. If this was just that bit less sweet, then it would certainly be up there as one of my favourite perries ever. It’s one of those perries that I enjoy the end of it more than I do the start of it.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

