Oliver’s Lullam Perry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Oliver’s
Perry Name: Lullam Perry
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 5%
Taste: Medium
Served: Chilled 750ml bottle
Smell: Pears/
Colour: Light straw
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 16/11/12

The end of the week has finally arrived and to reward myself for a hard session at the gym I have opted for an Oliver’s perry. Today’s drop to quench the thirst is their Lullam perry, which is “A medium, fruity blend with the Lullam pear, after a wild yeast fermentation through the very cold winter of 2010” so the label says. I have always been impressed with their ciders/perries, when I have had them previously, with the Rock Perry being absolutely sublime. Due to all of that, I have high expectations for this one and hopefully it won’t let me down.

I’ve cracked open the bottle now and you can hear it fizzing away gently, though that is just more of a murmur, than it trying to erupt out the bottle. It poured with a fairly big white head, but this was very short-lived and the fizz looks very minimal. This does have an interesting and odd smell to this perry; You can smell the fruity perry pears, but there’s also like an acidic vinegary type smell to it too. Maybe that’s my mind playing tricks with me, but it’s not the worst smell in the world.

Once I have finally got round to drinking it, it felt light & fruity to begin with, which turned quite acidic, sour and mildly drying your mouth out more over time. I can feel some hints of oak in there too, but that is fairly subtle in the aftertaste, with the aftertaste being fairly long lasting and decent. This definitely feels unique for sure, but that’s not a bad unique…just different to your average perry really! I wouldn’t say this is my favourite perry in the world, or even my favourite Oliver’s perry, but it’s a nice interesting change from your standard perries, which can be overly sweet at times. Another thing I will say is this perry does grow on you over time too. So if at first you’re not sure if it’s your thing, then finish your pint/bottle to find out for sure.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

