Ledbury Cider & Perry Co Wilces Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Ledbury Cider & Perry Co
Cider Name: Wilces Cider
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apples
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Truffles Deli, Ross-On-Wye
Date: 20/11/12

Last weekend was my trip to Herefordshire, which meant I would bring a shedload of cider back. Ok, maybe not as huge as a shedload (plus I have no shed to store that much in!), but my cider shelves are very well stocked now. To stock up on the bottle side of things, I opted for a visit to Truffles Deli. I know there are plenty of good cider shops up that way, but I only had time for 1 this time unfortunately! Up first of these bottles is the Wilces Cider, which is produced locally at Ledbury Cider & Perry Co.

I can’t say I have heard a lot about the guys who make this cider, but it appears to be run by the Wilce family on their Old Kennels Farm up in Ledbury. The cider is said to be made from a blend of bitter-sweet and sharp cider apples, which are matured in oak barrels. Apples are also grown locally at their orchard and all looks to be done the proper way. No concentrates or chemicals are used, which is the best and only way cider making should be done in my opinion! Sounds great so far, can it deliver a decent cider too?

This cider is definitely on the sparkling side, as when I opened it, it just came flying out at me! Luckily spillage was to a minimum, but you can definitely see a good bit of sparkle in the glass, even after letting it sit for a while. The smell is fairly decent and you can certainly feel a good apple aroma and a slight touch of farmhouse feel to it. Now onto the taste and I have to say I do like it. It’s very smooth, slightly acidic/sharp and has a good apple feel to the initial taste. The aftertaste has a little bitterness and you can feel the oak from the barrels coming through with a moderate level of tannins. There’s just something missing for me personally to turn it from a good cider to one of my favourite ones, but it certainly is very well-balanced and easy to drink. It’s just lacking a bit of bite and complexity for me.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

