Perry’s Somerset Redstreak (SV) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Perry’s
Cider Name: Somerset Redstreak (SV)
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Sweet apple
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 26/11/12

I’m heading back south again with my next review tonight and it’s going to be the Somerset Redstreak (Single-Variety) cider from Perry’s. I’ve heard plenty of good things about this cider and the list of the awards on the bottle seem to suggest it can’t be a bad one. Then again, cider is all about personal taste too, so we shall see how this one gets on tonight. My fingers are firmly crossed!

Perry’s cider so far for me has been, on the whole, a good experience and I’ve yet to experience a cider I wouldn’t try again. They are not a small producer anymore, but then again they don’t fit into the Weston’s/Thatchers category either. As mentioned above, tonight’s cider is going to be a Single-Variety (SV), which from what I understand is of the mild bittersweet variety. I’ve yet to have this in the SV form, so I have no idea what to expect, but hey the proof is in the tasting…….so I must march on now and stop waffling!

The cider poured with very little fizz and has settled to a near standstill within moments. I take in the aroma and I have to say it smells very sweet. There’s a good hint of fresh apples in it, but it has like a creamy sweet smell in there too. It’s pleasant, but it just wasn’t what I was expecting. It’s hard to explain it in more details, but hopefully you’ll understand what I mean if you happen to try it.

I now take in the taste and it’s definitely a decent one at that! It starts off very fruity and sweet, like a toffee apple or something similar, but then there is a hint of dryness in the tail and lots of mild tannins coming through to take your mouth on a rollercoaster ride. This is not a cider that will challenge you to drink it, as there is little acidity to it, but it’s fairly complex and just excites the taste buds. I can’t get over just how smooth, easy drinking, and tasty this cider is. Even the aftertaste is decent and lingers well. All it’s lacking for me is just a bit more bite and pizzazz, but other than that it’s hard to fault it.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

