Oliver’s Medium Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Oliver’s
Cider Name: Medium
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Apples/Citrus
Colour: Dull yellow/orange
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Oliver’s Cider Farm
Date: 28/11/12

Tonight I’m sticking again to Herefordshire and this time a trip back to Oliver’s, for a good glass of their cider. I have a plenty of theirs left on the shelf, so it was only right I brought another one out to play. This time it is their middle-of-the-road Medium Cider, which I got on draught when I was up there last week.

When you get a cider on draught you don’t usually get any information about the cider, which unfortunately this cider wasn’t going to break from away the norm this time either. All the info on here is that it is 6% ABV and made from cider apple juice with added sugar. The addition of sugar makes sense, as it would have to get down to 6% and a medium somehow, from what was no doubt a much drier and alcoholic state before. Although I’d prefer it if it was done in otherways, but at least they are honest and are not using chemicals. I guess what I really wanted to see is what apples were used, so I can build up my cider education more. I’ll have to get around to experimenting with the cider making again soon I think!

Back to the drink now and the carbonation is as flat as a pancake, which is just how I wanted and expected it to be. It’s a dull yellow colour, with hints of orange and has a rather funky smell to it. It’s like you have an apple smell, mixed with some citrus and a slight hint of the farmyard all in there at once. It’s not the most exciting smell in the world, but then again you shouldn’t always judge a book by their cover! Interestingly though, if I smell it direct from the flagon I get a high ethanol smell I don’t get from the glass.

I take a large gulp of the cider and it is indeed a decent drink. You get some apple up front, but then some citrus notes take over with a good level of sourness, and lastly followed by dryness, some tannins and a very minor oak taste. This feels slightly on the drier side of medium, fairly exciting and complex, and has a long-lasting taste. It’s not for me one of my favourite ciders of theirs, but it’s decent and well worth trying.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

