Gregg’s Pit Thorn (SV) (2011) Perry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Gregg’s Pit
Perry Name: Thorn (SV) (2011)
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Pears/
Colour: Light straw
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Gregg’s Pit
Date: 29/11/12

My 2nd perry of the evening (after the Oliver’s Medium Perry) is the Single-Variety Thorn Perry by Gregg’s Pit. Perry is what is their bread and butter is, so I have high hopes they can deliver. I have my fingers crossed it can!

Thorn Perry Pears are one of the oldest vintage perry pears, but at the same time it is also very hard to find apparently. I personally have not heard of this pear variety until now, so I’m quite intrigued to see how this one turns out. From a quick search, this should be more on the drier side and possibly be exactly on my wavelength. Only time will tell I guess!

I have to say this poured so light and clear. If I had no idea what it was beforehand, then I’d say it looks like I am drinking a pint of white wine. Oh god, imagine doing that….I’d probably be drunk in no time at all! The smell is very pear-like and similar to pear drops I had as a kid. It’s very fragrant and pretty satisfying on the nose. I’ve dived deep in the glass (not literally of course; I’m not that small!) and I have to say it is lightly floral on the taste buds and a big pear hit. It is very wine-like though and would definitely help convert a wine drinker to a beautifully fermented pear drink. It’s juicy, has a full pear flavour and a got a good dry and astringent kick to the end of it. I’m not one for usually liking a wine-like drink, but this one is very satisfying and so easy to drink.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

