Oliver’s Medium Perry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Oliver’s
Perry Name: Medium
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Medium
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Rustic pears
Colour: Dull straw/Yellow
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Oliver’s
Date: 29/11/12

I thought I’d give the ciders a miss tonight. I know, I know it’s a shocking thing to do, but at least I am not off the fermented fruit completely, as I will be going for a few perries. First up is the Medium Perry from Oliver’s, which was bought straight from the farm on draught.

If there’s one thing you have to say about Oliver’s, then it’s that they do make some of the finest perry known to man. The Rock Perry I had previously is just divine and worth its weight in gold. So it’s nice to finally get the chance to try some more of their perries at last. Yet again I’m not sure of the pears involved with this one, but I assume it’s a blend.

This poured a lightly cloudy, straw/yellow colour, with some visibility through the glass but not much. It would be like driving through thick fog, if you were take the cloudiness as a driving condition. The smell is very much of the pears, but it has that rustic farmhouse feel too and a light hint of ethanol. Onto the taste now and it has a full on, lightly sweet, pear taste to begin with, which then gets quite tart and mildly sharp/acidic. Like the Rock Perry, this one does make your mouth feel drier the more you have of it, but it’s not quite on the same extreme scale. One thing I did notice in the aftertaste is that it has a light nuttiness feel to it. I’m not sure if that’s part of a wood taste coming through, but it’s very satisfying. Overall, the taste is great, it has a nice little bite to it and lingers for ages after. I’ll be going back for more for sure!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

