Burrow Hill Medium Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Burrow Hill
Cider Name: Medium
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Fresh apples
Colour: Dull yellow
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: My local pub in Bristol
Date: 30/11/12

As it’s Friday and one of my locals wanted a new cider, I was only too glad to visit the Bristol Cider Shop with them to help them on their way. After the huge success of the Black Dragon and Tumpy Ground previously, I thought I’d try something different this time. I went for the Burrow Hill Medium as something that’s fairly easy on the palate but different at the same time.

Burrow Hill are the geniuses behind the elusive Cider Brandy and are well known to me for their other ciders too. This is their medium and a draught cider in a bag-in-box. As it’s a medium, it should hopefully appeal to both ends of the cider spectrum and will prove me right, whilst I didn’t have a chance for a taster beforehand.

It poured a lovely cloudy yellow colour and of course it’s still as well. Onto the main part, the taste, and I have to say this just such a smooth cider! It’s beautifully sweet and juicy to start with, then some tartness hits you and a mild dry finish. I wouldn’t say there is much acidity to this, but it feels very well rounded and could easily be a session cider. All that’s missing for me personally is a bit more bite and acidity.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

