Oliver’s Scrumpy Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Oliver’s
Cider Name: Scrumpy Cider
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium
Served: Chilled pint
Smell: Rustic apples
Colour: Dull orange
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Oliver’s
Date: 30/11/12

I’m now onto my final Oliver’s cider on draught, from my recent trip to Herefordshire, which is called Scrumpy Cider. This from my knowledge is very similar to their Medium draught cider, but it has been left to be naturally cloudy and not racked off to make the cider clearer.

As with all the draught ciders from Oliver’s, this one didn’t have any further information on the sticker, except the fact it was 6% ABV, had been made with cider apple juice and had some additional sugar added. I poured this one out and blimey it sure is cloudy. From a distance it does look like just pure orange juice, as it has that deep and dark a colour. The only time I’ve actually seen a cider this cloudy before was a bottom of the box pint of Old Rosie down the local Wetherspoons. After getting over the colour, I took a whiff of the cider and there’s a nice apple aroma, which is mixed in with that farmyard type smell, but I can’t feel the citrus notes I did with the Medium I had previously.

I took the plunge and virtually straight away I felt a mouth puckering sourness/tartness to it and a good apple taste mixed all in one, with moderate acidity levels. To finish with, the dryness comes out with a good level of tannins and very mild oakiness. The taste does linger for a good while and is very tasty. I’ve just tasted this side-by-side with the Medium and there seems to be a bit more sharpness and drier than the Medium, but the Scrumpy seems to have a deeper and stronger taste.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

