Butford Organics Medium Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Butford Organics Cider
Cider Name: Medium
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 8%
Taste: Medium
Served: Chilled pint
Smell: Sweet apple
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Butford Organics
Date: 03/12/12

After another hectic weekend, which just flew by in what felt like a blink of an eye, I am back on to trying a few new ciders tonight. First up is another Herefordshire cider on draught and this time it is the Medium Cider from Butford Organics.

As the name suggests, they are an organic cider producer, which are situated on Butford Farm in Herefordshire. It’s not the first time I have tried their cider, as the Gatria was a huge success last time. I guess that’s why I went to their farm for my last Herefordshire trip, so I could see what they are all about. This particular cider is made from the Brown Snout, Dabinett & Vilberie cider apple varieties and only has the addition of sugar to the mix.

When I poured this cider out it was a golden/amber colour and surprisingly clear. I’m not sure why, but I was hoping it was going to be a cloudy one. I have nothing against a clear cider though, as there are plenty clear ones I do love, but I just like my cider to be as natural and untouched as possible. I know you can’t always judge a book by its cover, but sometimes it is just nice to look at a good cover to entice me in!

As I took a whiff of this one, it felt fairly sweet, but had a good oaky aroma too. Finally I have got around to tasting this cider and I have to say it’s just so appetising. It’s like it starts sweet, fruity and smooth. This then turns in to a really juicy, tangy taste and followed with a lovely oaky feel to the aftertaste, with a hint of dryness coming through too. This one is just so easy drinking and doesn’t feel anything like the 8% it says it is. Boy I can imagine that one creeping up on you and hitting you for 6, if you don’t give this the respect it deserves. The tannin levels are of a decent level too, it’s very well-rounded and has very little bitterness in any part of the experience. Overall, I do love this cider and it’s up there with some of my other favourites. It’s well worth trying, especially if you like your ciders with a good acidic/tangy bite to them.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 9/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Ian Parker said,

    Nice review Nick. Did you spot the old press in the barn at the side ?
    Owner seemed a pleasant chap,.I got the impression they care more about the perry market. I bought 5 litres at what I thought was a very pricey £15. That’s twice what I pay at my local farm Don’t think I’d give it a 9 either, maybe a 7 at best but I do like sweet cider. This is medium/dry.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment