Butford Organics Nimbus Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Butford Organics Cider
Cider Name: Nimbus
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6.8%
Taste: Medium
Served: Chilled 750ml bottle
Smell: Sweet apples
Colour: Dull amber/Orange
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Butford Organics
Date: 03/12/12

Following on from a great Butford Organics Medium Cider, I thought I’d jump straight in at the deep end and have another of their ciders. This time it is one of their bottled ciders called Nimbus

Nimbus is the Latin word for “Dark Cloud”, which I guess this cider certainly is, as it’s a cloudy beast. The apples used for the Nimbus appear to differ at times, but this cider had the Browns, Brown Snout & Vilberie varieties on board. I’ve seen past batches have anything from Yarlington Mill to Somerset Redstreak, but the Brown Snout appears to be a constant in all of that. There’s a fair amount of sediment lining the bottom of the bottle too, so be careful when pouring it. Though I personally don’t mind a bit in the bottom of my glass. It all adds to the experience at the end of the day!

I have a quick smell of it and all I can say is it smells just like a homemade apple pie. Ah how I’d love to have some of my nans apple pie right now, that was just sublime after a good roast dinner! I pour it out and it is a very dull amber/orange colour, which you can barely see through the other side. Ah Mr Cloudy Cider, how I have missed you!

Onto getting this cider down my neck and it tastes exactly how it smells! It’s juicy, smooth and like drinking a mildly sour apple pie. There is light tanginess in the aftertaste and it’s another easy drinking cider. I really do like this, but it’s just lacking a cutting edge for me. I wanted this cider to challenge me more than it did, but it couldn’t quite peak at the top of its game. It’s not to say it isn’t a great cider, but it’s not quite up there with my favourites, which is a shame.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

