Dunkertons Browns (SV) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Dunkertons
Cider Name: Browns (SV)
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 7.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apples
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 04/12/12

It may only be Tuesday today, but luckily for me it’s the last day of my working week. Yes I am a jammy git to have the next 3 days off, but hey I had to use my holiday before the end of the year or lose it forever! Anyway, to celebrate this, I am going to treat myself to a couple of new ciders tonight. First up is the Browns Single-Variety (SV) cider from Dunkertons.

The label for this cider is just simplistic and very easy on the eye. It’s not trying to be flash or anything, but does have a very olden days feel about it. The apples that go into this cider are mainly produced locally at a farm called Gattertop.

As I opened it, it was very silent on the sparkling front and poured fairly flat, but it did have a gentle stream of bubbles if you looked hard enough. The aroma is not particularly strong, but you can pick up a good hint of apples in the air. So to the main event, the drinking, and I have to say I do like this one. It has a lightly sweet start to the taste, but then a gorgeous tangy/acidic, yet sharp, taste kicks in and takes your mouth on a hell of a ride. There’s a fair amount of dryness and a small amount of tannins in the end of this drink, with a light oaky feel in the aftertaste. Overall, I’ll certainly be coming back for more of this and is a decent tipple.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

