Newton Court Yarlington Mill (SV) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Newton Court
Cider Name: Yarlington Mill (SV)
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6.4%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Chilled 330ml bottle
Smell: Rustic apples
Colour: Dull orange/copper
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 10/12/12

After another bumper weekend, well a 5 day weekend to be exact, there always has to be something to put a downer on things. That today for me was work, where I had to trek all the way to Wales for the first time in ages. Up at the crack of dawn and not back until 8pm! To try to make a better end to a not so great day I have opted for a cider to try to relax me. Todays cider happens to be the Single-Variety (SV) Yarlington Mill from Newton Court.

Newton Court are a Herefordshire based cider producer, where it is run by the father and son team of Tom and Paul Stephens. After the success of their Dabinett (SV) and Autumn Harvest previously, I have high hopes this can continue in this trend. So I won’t waste anymore time typing and I’ll get down to having this bad boy!

This poured with a large foamy head to it and had a fairly cloudy orange/copper colour to it. I’m surprised it was as fizzy looking as it is, as I was expecting something a bit more settled, but hey beggars can’t be choosers as they! The smell has a very rustic apple feel and slightly on the overripe side of things.

Right it’s time to tuck in now and my first impression is not really a great one to be honest. You can sense an initial small apple hit, which then turns into dryness and a fair bit of bitterness. It just feels a little on the watery side to me and just doesn’t do much a lot to excite the tastebuds. After the bitterness and dryness, it hasn’t got a whole lot else left in its armoury. I wanted something exciting to drink and this was just not it unfortunately, as it felt a little monotone, if I’m honest. I might have to try another one again in the future, to see if it was just a bad batch, but that will not be for a good while yet.

Would I buy this again?: Probably not
Overall Rating: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

