Gwatkin Pyder Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Gwatkin
Pider Name: Pyder
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 5%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: 500ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Toffee apple/Light pear
Colour: Amber/Hint of red
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 06/12/12

After a busy day seeing all the tourist attractions in Jersey, which included finding their local ciders, I have gone to chill out and have a rest. With a rest comes the need for a cider. Well when I say cider, I actually mean Pider in this instance, as I’ve decided on trying out the Pyder from Gwatkin.

For those who don’t know, Pyder/Pider is the name given to a drink which is a mix of apples and pears. The one thing that I instantly dislike about the bottle is the mention it is “The Original Pear Cider”. It’s either Perry or Pider (depending if it contains apples or not) in my opinion, so make your mind up which it is! Though I only really heard that phrase when the likes of Magners started using it.

Anyway back on track again after my rant, it mentions this is a blend of apple and pear juice, with the addition of pure sugar too. It’s what I expected it to be, so no surprises there.

This poured lightly sparkling, but nothing too heavy from what I can see. The aroma is very heavily on the apples, with there definitely a strong smell of what feels like toffee apples. I can smell some pear in it too, but that was definitely not in the forefront.

Onto the taste and it is really does have a ripe and juicy apples feel, with the toffee apple flavour coming through after. There’s lots of sweet pear in it too, as my tastebuds go from both flavours at a rapid rate. The balance between the 2 feels really good with a mild tingle left on your tongue after. If you told me this was non-alcoholic beforehand, then I could easily believe you, as it just tastes like a good fruity juice and not alcoholic at all. The thing for me is it’s just too much on the sweet side to really want to go back too often. It isn’t a boring Pider by any means, but it’s just not my thing. If you like things sweet, then this could really be the Pider you were looking for!

Would I buy this again?: Yes, but not a first choice.
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

