Chant Cider Badger Spit Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Chant Cider
Cider Name: Badger Spit
Region: Somerset
ABV: 8-10% (Approx)
Taste: Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Apples/Ethanol
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Naish/Chant Farm
Date: 07/12/12

Friday night has come, a friend has a house party and so the Badger Spit has come out to play. No this is not some dodgy act with a animal, but a cider by Chants Cider.

Chant Cider I first heard of when they helped out the legend that is Frank Naish with his cider. Being the oldest cidermaker I have heard of, time does catch up with you eventually and need a hand with things. So the 2 are both making cider at the same place now and I have heard amazing things about Chants Cider. So good were the things that I had heard that i had to to make a trip down on my last Somerset outing. It’s just such a traditional and lovely setup they have going and it feels like what cider making should be about.

I had got myself a bag-in-box on my last trip, which surprisingly I had not broken in till now. It’s probably the longest I had given a cider without touching it. My friends actually think it’s a miracle I have resisted the urge until now! As there’s a party now, it’s the perfect time to have it and let it loose on my friends. Some may regret it later, but hey you only live once!

This poured surprisingly very clear and golden for a Somerset cider, but had a beautiful apple smell, which had a knockout blow of alcohol in the air too. Just from that you can tell you have to respect this beast or face the consequences after a pint or 2! It does actually start rather crisp and smooth to begin with, but then the acidity and dryness go into overdrive and take your mouth on such a spectacular journey! This is not for the faint hearted, but I just love it. This isn’t strong for strong sake, as it has such a wonderful flavour too and has so much about it!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 9.5/10

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Ian McFadyen said,

    Truly a rough diamond amongst the plethora of poorly produced ciders. This is an artisans cider, the guys whom produce this nectar are true gentlemen of their art. Also they produce the most spectacular cider called Chant’s Singing Cider. When’s I sup this beauty, it doesn’t make me sing! But by god it often makes me sin! Lord help me and hats off to Paul and Frank

  2. 2

    Tim Wale said,

    I havent had the pleasure of trying Mr Chants cider yet, but look forward to the day I do 🙂

  3. 3

    Cider Talbot said,

    Its blimin lovly drop of Zumerzets finest. proper job young’un idu love it.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

