Ross-On-Wye Alpaca ‘Blossom’ Medium Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Ross-On-Wye
Cider Name: Alpaca ‘Blossom’ Medium Dry
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: 500ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Apples
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 07/12/12

I’m finally back from a nice couple of days in Jersey and lo and behold the weekend for me has just begun again! Oh I love having a long weekend! Sorry if this makes any of you jealous by saying that, but hey I’m use to people doing the same to me, so I guess that’s karma as they say! Anyway, it’s early evening on a Friday and of course that means it is cider time again! Well this cider I was going to have whilst in Jersey, but hey time flies whilst you’re having fun, so I kind of ran out of time then! So first up tonight is the Ross-On-Wye Alpaca ‘Blossom’ Medium Dry Cider.

This is a still cider from Ross-On-Wye, which has a picture adorning the label of their lovely Alpaca called Blossom. One thing you rarely get with one of their ciders is a boring label! There’s very little details about the cider itself on the label, with the exception it says it is a Medium Dry Still cider and their alpacas graze amongst their cider apple trees. So there’s little else for me to do now except crack this one open and see what it is like!

The cider poured a bright golden colour and was as silent as a mouse when it came out, with the aroma very heavily on the fresh ripe apples and little else in the air. As for the taste, it is juicy and sweet at first, with a nutty/woody type taste taking over. This is whilst having a tart/sharpness feel to it and leading to a more dry finish. This is one of these ciders which I’m just not sure what to make of really. It’s not bad by any stretch of the imagination, but it’s also not making me go “wow I must have this all night”. All I will say it is very drinkable and does have a nice lingering taste.

Would I buy this again?: Yes, but not a first choice.
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

