Old Grove Bramley (2011) (SV) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Old Grove
Cider Name: Bramley (2011) (SV)
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 5.2%
Taste: Medium
Served: Chilled 750ml bottle
Smell: Sweet apple
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Truffles Deli, Ross-On-Wye
Date: 11/12/12

Today has been thankfully a bit more quiet than my hectic day in Wales yesterday, so after some cider shopping earlier, I have managed to find time to have a cider now. I’m now onto the last couple of my Herefordshire ciders, after the epic trip recently, and first up tonight is the Old Grove Bramley Single Variety (SV) Cider.

Old Grove are a family run cider producer from Herefordshire, who have set up their niche in the market as doing single-variety dessert/culinary apple ciders. It’s a bit of an odd thing in my mind to limit yourself to only dessert/culinary apples, as all the best ciders I’ve ever had has been made with proper cider apples. Why limit yourself to only doing that? Well I guess they’ve made their choice, so I better make mine to dig in deep and try this.

This poured a bright golden/amber colour and smelt very sweet on the nose, with a definite light feel of apple pie. Thankfully it is only very lightly sparkling and had very little bubbles trying to fight their way out, so that’s always a plus in my book!

I took my first taste and I have to say it’s very sweet to begin with and has a strong tangy taste to it. It’s like having one of those fizzy apple sweets you had as a kid, but it’s actually alcoholic too! I wouldn’t say it is totally unpleasant, but it’s just very one-dimensional and doesn’t have much more to its game than the acidic tangyness, as it has no bitterness and very little tannins. I’d struggle to drink this quickly or have more than one in an evening, as the taste can be a bit too much after a while. God knows how much it would blow your head off if it wasn’t tamed down to the 5.2% it is! If all Bramley SV ciders are like this, then it’s not got enough on its own to make it worthwhile, in my opinion.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly, but not more than half pint at a time.
Overall Rating: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

