Severn Cider Dry Sparkling Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Severn Cider
Cider Name: Dry Sparkling
Region: Gloucestershire
ABV: 6.3%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apples/Oak
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 13/12/12

Today was another busy day in Wales for me, with getting in early and not getting back until late. Surprisingly my car is looking on the up now too. It’s still a struggle to start at times, but at least the battery hasn’t died again! I like living life on the edge I guess you can say. Anyway, I’m sure you know the drill by now, I’m feeling tired, so I need a cider or 2 to make things seem that oh so much better. Well, luckily for me my fridge still has a good few left in it. I’m sure that won’t last long, but I’ll enjoy it whilst it lasts. First up tonight is the Severn Cider Sparkling Dry Cider.

This is the 3rd sparkling cider/perry for me from Severn Cider, which on the whole have been fairly decent. I’m struggling to think of a time I had tried their stuff on draught to be honest. I must put that right sometime soon me thinks. Like the medium I tried previously, it is made from fruit from local orchards and has no added colourings/flavours. Just a natural cider made the way god intended it to be.

As with all of their ciders/perries, this has a funky looking piece of artwork on the bottle, with this one being produced by Steve Hyslop. The picture depicts the home of Severn Cider, with the landmark of May Hill featuring and red is the colour they have given to make sure you know this one is a dry cider. Anyway, back to the business of the actual cider and this poured with a small head to it, but it is definitely only a light sparkle to it. Lovely jubbly!

The aroma coming from this cider is of lightly sour apples and a tiny oaky smell in the mix too. Onto the taste and it has a very small bit of sweetness in the forefront of the mouth, which rapidly turns to decent levels of dryness and tannins, a sour/citrus and astringent middle and a bit more dryness to go with the gorgeous oaky aftertaste. This seems to just work very well for me and I could happily have a couple of bottle of this, as it’s very yummy. You do need a good appreciation of a dry cider to enjoy this, but it’s not a dry your mouth out type cider at the same time too. Good job Severn Cider!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

