Perry’s Somerset Dabinett (SV) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Perry’s
Cider Name: Somerset Dabinett (SV)
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Sweet apples
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 14/12/12

It’s Friday evening everyone, which means putting my feet, relaxing and doing whatever I like until Monday. It’s always my favourite part of the week and probably yours too! It’s getting close to Christmas now, so the plethora of parties and celebrations are beginning to happen. Tonight is the night for our quiz teams Christmas do, so I thought I’d sneak in a cheeky cider before I leave. Up tonight is another Single-Variety (SV) cider by Perry’s, which just so happens to be the Somerset Dabinett.

This is my 5th Perry’s I’ve come across now, which have so far been of great standard. There has been the occasional ones that are not to my taste, like the Somerset Tremlett, but all have been well made. Like everything in the world, some people like something and others don’t; It’s all about opinions!

On the bottle it lists this as a Medium/Sweet, so I’m guessing it has probably been sweetened in some shape or form, as I’m sure Dabinett is more naturally drier than that! As I opened and poured this cider out, it had a huge foamy head to it, but that must have just been the initial excitement of leaving the bottle, as I can barely see a bubble in sight now. It has a very strong smell of apples, but you can also sense a huge amount of sweetness in it too.

Onto the important part now, the drinking, and it’s very smooth, sweet and mellow for a cider. It’s one of those ciders you can happily drink and forget you are even doing it! There’s a definite distinctive Dabinett feel to it, but it feels like it is being held back with the sweetness. There is a some tartness/bitterness to go with the drier finish and soft tannin levels (and a little cheesyness too), but it just wasn’t ballsy enough for me. I wanted to be challenged more by the cider. This doesn’t mean it is a bad cider by any means, but it would suit someone who likes their ciders a little more on the sweeter side. Overall, I would happily drink it, but it wouldn’t be my first choice by any means.

Would I buy this again?: Yes, but not as a first choice.
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

