Ross-On-Wye Oak Barrel Medium Still Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Ross-On-Wye
Cider Name: Oak Barrel Medium Still
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 7.4%
Taste: Medium
Served: Chilled 750ml bottle
Smell: Rustic apples/Rum
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 20/12/12

I’ve had a good day working from home today, with the only frustration at the moment being with delivery companies. I buy something online for Xmas and I expect it to be delivered to my house! Oh no, they deliver it elsewhere and expect me to guess which house it has been delivered to. It’s like I’ve been playing house roulette today and still not winning! Ah well, time to stop worrying for now and dig into some cider! Up next is the Oak Barrel Medium Still Cider from Ross-On-Wye/Broome Farm.

Ross-On-Wye are familiar to me and this is my 5th cider I’ve had of theirs since I began blogging. They’re probably only 1 of a handful of producers I’ve had more than a couple of their ciders. Though that would likely to be because it is always of a decent standard. I’ve yet to have one from them that I haven’t liked and fingers crossed that doesn’t start today! I know that day may come one day, but at least make sure it is until after the 21st, as the world is going to end right?!!? Seriously, who believes in that nonsense!

Right I think I’ve waffled enough already, so that means it’s cider time and time to see what this bad boy has to offer! There was very minor traces of sediment in the bottle, but overall very clear, golden and still. Ah what a great start, though the bottle was pretty self-explanatory about that! The aroma is of apple juice in a beautiful farmyard, with a good whiff of rum about it! It’s a totally amazing smell and making me just want to drink it now!! Well I’ve given in to the urge very quickly and boy I’m glad I did! There’s a juicy, smooth, slighty sweet and sexy apple taste to start with. This then turns into a moderate astringent taste, which is finally finished off with the feeling of rum and oak taking over to give it a gorgeous aftertaste. What starts light and slightly sweet, ends so damn fine and is very well-balanced and easy to drink. It has tickled my tastebuds and is just one of those drinks that keeps on giving! I thoroughly enjoyed that and I will certainly be looking to get some more.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

