Henney’s Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Henney’s
Cider Name: Dry
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Sweet apples
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Sainsbury’s
Date: 22/12/12

Ah so the world didn’t end after all, my lost parcel has been found and all my Xmas shopping has been finished. It all worked out alright in the end didn’t it?!?! Well, except the fact Bristol Rovers are bottom of the league, but the only way is up for them! It looks like I’m finally ready for Xmas (minus 1 day at work), so tonight I shall start on another cider. Up today is the Dry Cider from Henney’s

Henney’s actually surprised me with their last cider I had, the 2011 vintage still, as I wasn’t expecting something as tasty as it was from a cider that is in virtually every supermarket! Their other main cider you see in the shops is the one up today, the Dry Cider. As like the other one, it is made from locally grown apples, which are then milled, pressed and fermented. It’s then blended and stored during the winter to let it mature. It’s just how cider should be made and thankfully nothing bad is added to the mix either.

The bottle itself is just simple and effective. No fancy gimmicks or anything like that. It says what it is and is classy at the same time. It pours a lovely golden/amber colour and has a light carbonation about it, with the cider only briefly having a head to it. The aroma is of sweet apples and is very pleasant. As for the taste, it is crisp, juicy and a light sour apple taste. I would say it is very easy to drink, has a light acidic bite, light tannins and has a really nice apple taste to it, but it just doesn’t do it for me. It’s like it has all the potential to be a good one, but it’s just held back a bit and missing something. The excitement for me is just not there unfortunately. It’s miles better than most mass-produced ciders you find in a supermarket, but it doesn’t compare to some of the great ciders out there. I definitely do prefer their vintage cider to this one.

Would I buy this again?: Yes, if I was buying cider from a supermarket. I wouldn’t necessarily pick this over other ciders in a pub though.
Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

