Honey’s Midford Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Honey’s
Cider Name: Midford Cider
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Apples
Colour: Golden/Amber/Orange
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Dick Willow’s
Date: 29/12/12

It’s not long now until the New Year celebrations begin, so it’s time to up the cider stocks and get in a few new treats to celebrate the New Year in. Off to Dick Willow’s I went and got a few of their own ciders and also the Honey’s Midford cider, which is what I shall be reviewing today.

This is not the first time I have come across Honey’s Cider, as I got some a little while back on my trip to the now deceased Packhorse Inn in Bath. I really enjoyed it back then, so I jumped at the chance when I saw it available at Dick Willow’s. They are a father and daughter team, who are based at Midford farm, which is just outside Bath. It’s actually very close to where my mum lives, so I must pop on in when I’m next visiting!

As expected, they make cider the proper and traditional way, using cider apples from their orchards and both cooking/dessert apples, which are donated from local orchards/gardens. There’s no chance of them using anything but pure juice in their cider, which is always great to hear!

The cider poured a lovely golden colour, which has hints of orange and amber too. It has an amazing aroma of apples and oak. There’s also something else there too, but I can’t quite pick out what it is. Whatever it is, it’s definitely beautiful to smell. As for the taste, it starts light, juicy and fruity, but then there’s a bitterness (and light sharpness) that comes through with a lovely oaky/cheesy aftertaste and touches of dryness. It’s very easy to drink, delicious, fairly well-balanced and has moderate tannins. I was hoping for a bit more sour/acidity, but that’s more of personal preference than a fault with the cider. I’d certainly go back and have more of this, whenever I next get a chance to!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Alexander Wilson said,

    How do I buy a barrel online?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

