Dick Willow’s Broxwood Foxwhelp (SV) Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Dick Willow’s
Cider Name: Broxwood Foxwhelp (SV)
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Dry
Served: Chilled pint
Smell: Strong acidic apples
Colour: Dull yellow
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Dick Willow’s
Date: 01/01/13

Wow, what fun was had seeing in this new year. There was plenty of drinks, lots of party games played and even some karaoke! After a hard earned rest and being well fed, it’s time to try a new cider. Up now is the single-variety (SV) Broxwood Foxwhelp by Dick Willow’s.

I had heard of the Foxwhelp apple before, but never the Broxwood Foxwhelp, so this is a new one for me. I’ve been fairly impressed with the selection from Dick Willow’s so far, but was told this is one of their dryest ciders they got going. I thought that would be interesting to try, so that’s as good a reason to get it!

It poured a fairly dull yellow colours and has such an explosive acidic/vinegar apple aroma. The smell alone could probably take your head off! I cautiously took a sip and I did enjoy it, but boy it’s an acquired taste. There’s a huge acidic bite, which is what this cider is mainly about. It has a light sourness about it and very tangy. I can enjoy a pint of this, but I’d struggle to do more than that in 1 sitting. I’d prefer this as part of a blend than just a cider on its own. If you don’t like your cider tangy and acidic, then it might be best to avoid.

Would I buy this again?: Yes, but not more than 1 pint at a time
Overall Rating: 6.5/10

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Alan stone said,

    I usually enjoy your reviews and at least know where they are coming from – but I fear you may have over rated the Dick Willows ones – most of his Richards ciders that I have tasted since he split with Denis have had a strong tendency to the acetic – some old timers may like this if they know nothing better but every genuine expert I have talked to identifies this as the result of poor cider making and storage practice – picking out some key words in your reviews it would seem this is still the case!

    • 2

      TheCiderBlog said,

      Hi Alan,

      Many thanks for taking the time to send a response to my reviews and I always value your opinion, as you know what you are talking about. I’m still learning about cider and I like hearing from people who have been there and done that, which in turn helps to educate me more. My knowledge and palate has certainly evolved and changed vastly over the last few years of cider drinking!

      Their ciders are definitely on the whole a little more acetic compared to some other producers (which as you say can be down to poor storage/cider making), although I feel their oak version is on my wavelength completely and not too overpoweringly acetic, which is why it received the score it did (maybe I had just had a good batch at the time too). I try to do my reviews based on how they are for me at that point in time and how I like it according to what my taste is. One of my favourite cider tastes leans towards cider with a bit more acidity than your average person likes, which is why I score those personally higher, as they are more of what I like. If I was reviewing this from the perspective of someone who hates cider with high acidity, then it definitely wouldn’t have scored as highly as it did!

      I try and make sure I let people know if it is acidic or not, as I don’t want to mislead people. I know that it can be an acquired taste (this particular one more so than the others) and is certainly not something that everyone would love. It just so happens that some work really well for my palate.

      Cheers,

      Nick


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

