Tricky Medium Sweet Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Tricky
Cider Name: Medium Sweet
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Sweet apples/Floral
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 02/01/13

I’ve made it past New Years Day somehow, after a crazy and fun night and It’s time to get back on the cider to celebrate 2013 back home in Bristol. It could well be a tricky year ahead, if I’m ever going to get to my 500 before mid-August, so I better start the year with a Tricky cider!

This is the 3rd Tricky Cider I have had, but the 1st time I’ve touched their sweeter products. Though it’s a sweeter cider, they haven’t used any artificial sweeteners to getting them to that, which is always pleasing to hear. They also are a 100% juice cidermaker and use the local bittersweet apples to make it. I loved their draught cider, but was a little disappointed with their Medium/Dry bottled. Which camp will this one sit in? It’s now time to find out!

As with the Medium/Dry, it poured a lovely bright golden colour and had a small head to it, but thankfully it looked very gently sparkling. The aroma was of sweet apples and has a light floral feel to it. Now after getting over that lovely smell, I’ve had a taste and it’s fairly sweet to start with (but not sickly), which then hits you with a fair amount of tannins, some sharpness and a heavy amount of bitter tones. It’s crisp, fairly refreshing, lightly watery, but is not entirely to my taste. I strangely prefer it a little bit to their medium/dry, but I can’t say it inspires me or excites me too much. There’s a bit too much bitterness for me and feels like it is lacking something. If you like your cider fairly light in taste and decent levels of bitterness, then it would be fairly decent for you.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly, but still prefer their draught cider.
Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

