Healey’s Classic Oak Matured Cyder Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Healey’s
Cider Name: Classic Oak Matured Cyder
Region: Cornwall
ABV: 7.4%
Taste: Medium
Served: Chilled 750ml bottle
Smell: Apples/Lightly wine-like
Colour: Golden straw
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Unknown. Christmas present
Date: 01/01/13

2013 has been going great guns so far (with the exception of returning to work today!) and it’s nearly another weekend too. Why can’t every week be as good as this?!?! Anyway, it’s that time again to try another new cider for me. Up tonight is the Healey’s Classic Oak Matured Cyder.

Healey’s are very well-known for their Cornish Rattler, but this one is completely a new one on me. This looks like it is the real deal and the cider I was always hoping they would produce, which is made from bittersweet apple varieties such as Dabinett, Katy and Harry Masters. Don’t get me wrong, I do appreciate a Cornish Rattler periodically, but it was always seemed to aimed at the younger market and wasn’t one of the ciders that made me want to go back consistently. Fingers crossed this can be the one that gets me singing their praises from the rooftops, especially as this recently received a Gold Award in last years Taste of the West Awards. Oh and a big thank you to Emily for giving me this present for Christmas. I always like trying new ciders out 🙂 Without further ado, lets crack this one open!

This surprisingly poured a still cider and not the sparkling I was expecting! Don’t get me wrong I do prefer my cider still, but I just was under the impression it was a sparkler, though there is a little bit of natural fizz whilst it is poured. The aromas were of apples, but more of an apple wine smell about it than a cider. It just keeps on surprising me and the taste is next to do so too! It’s light, crisp, sweet on the forefront of your mouth and has a light citric/acidic feel to it as it tantalises your tastebuds, along with a moderate level of tannins gripping your mouth along the journey. There’s a good fruity feeling about this, very easy drinking and just has a gorgeous mild oak aftertaste. This aftertaste is one that just blends in and doesn’t want to take centre-stage! I would liken this to being a table cider; It’s one you don’t want to rush and just would enjoy with friends over a good meal. I thoroughly enjoyed this cider and will certainly be getting another bottle soon! My only word of caution with this is that it is 7.4% and tastes nothing like that! Be careful but enjoy it 🙂

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

