Healey’s Cornish Scrumpy Medium Dry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Healey’s
Cider Name: Cornish Scrumpy Medium Dry
Region: Cornwall
ABV: 7.4%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Chilled 1 litre flagon
Smell: Apple/Wood
Colour: Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Sainsbury’s
Date: 04/01/12

It’s Friday everyone! Thank god it has come around already, even though I have had only a 2 day week. God knows how I will survive next week, but I’ll think about that when I get to that point. To kickstart my Friday evening, I am having something I purchased when down in Cornwall. It’s a flagon of the Cornish Scrumpy from Healey’s.

As they say, you wait for 1 bus and 2 come along at once….or in the case of this, it’s their 2nd cider I’ve had in 24 hours! After the resounding success of the oak matured cyder yesterday, this one has a lot to live up to! It was sold in 1 litre flagons and looks more similar to their oak matured cyder than the Cornish Rattler. Though for a scrumpy, it’s a shame it’s completely clear and not cloudy or at least show some sign of sediment! Also, this recently won a Bronze Award at Taste of the West Awards, so fingers crossed that actually means it’s fairly decent!

I poured this out and it was a bright amber colour and had the aroma of apples with a touch of wood. There’s also a touch of something slightly sweeter like vanilla lurking amongst it. As for the taste, it’s very fruity and moderately sweet to begin with, but then it turns bitter and lightly sour. It’s like a lemony type taste in there, but slightly too bitter for me. After all of that it turns dryer and has a very light woody aftertaste. It has some similar properties to their oak matured, but isn’t executed as well for me. It’s less easy to drink, lacking a bit of depth and doesn’t have as gorgeous a flavour for a start. I was hoping for a touch more scrumpy feel to it and a little less bitter. It’s certainly drinkable and very refreshing, but it’s not a scrumpy in my eyes as I know it.

Would I buy this again?: Yes but not as a first choice.
Overall Rating: 7/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Patrick Huff said,

    have you found other clear scrumpys? is this rare?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

