Once Upon A Tree Putley Gold (2011) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Once Upon A Tree
Cider Name: Putley Gold (2011)
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Chilled 750ml bottle
Smell: Sweet apple pie
Colour: Gold/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 07/01/13

After a crazy New Year and weekend, I guess I am slowing down on the cider intake this week. I have got to give my liver a rest and chance to recuperate aswell! Whilst I’m taking it a little slower, I will be enjoying some quality looking cider with some good food. Up today is the Putley Gold by Once Upon A Tree.

Once Upon A Tree are fast becoming one of my favourite producers for a good table cider, which this one looks to be of decent quality just from looking at it. This is labelled a medium cider and is made from a blend of Ellis Bitter, Browns Apple, Dabinett & Michelin cider apples. It looks a cracking lineup of mainly bittersweet varieties and fingers crossed it goes down a treat.

This poured a bright golden/amber colour and had a beautiful sweet apple pie aroma just waiting to jump out of the bottle. It’s one of those ciders that you open the bottle and there’s so much aroma waiting to escape! Taking my first sip and you can feel some sweetness initially, but then a good level of acidity takes over with decent tannins and it is just such a smooth and exciting rollercoaster journey your tastebuds are taken on. There is also a light sour/citrus feel too that twists and tingles your tongue, which seems to be common for me with Once Upon A Tree ciders. This is just one of those ciders that feels extremely exciting, well-made and balanced. The mix between bittersweet and light sharpness seems just spot on for me and not overpowering in either area. Oh and then there’s the aftertaste, which is beautiful, long-lasting and has a light oaky feel to it, mixed with a nice dry finish. It’s so moreish that I’m nearly out of the bottle already! I am trying to fault it for something, but it’s very hard to, as it’s just easily what my palate loves and it is up there with the best of them. It could possibly be slightly too full on for the sweeter cider fans, but give it a go and make your own judgement!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 9.5/10

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Ian Parker said,

    Called in here en-spec looking for ciderfarms. Was told that they didn’t sell cider despite the fact they were having a festival for the following 2 days of the bank holiday. Their loss,I was going to buy in bulk somewhere. Apparently they own the cider shop in Ledbury which stocks numerous bottles of ciders from all over the place.It’s only a tiny shop so don’t expect to find 20l bag in box stuff. I found it extremely expensive in there. Also I was told that if I went back to the farm that I could buy in bulk.Hmmm,too late. I did try a sample at the shop (tight gits gave a thimble full that gave no real conclusion but it seemed ok). I think they thrive too much for being on the bbc. Ok if you are rich. Crap customer service.

    • 2

      TheCiderBlog said,

      I’ve not visited the shop yet, though I have heard from others the shop can be a little expensive. Putting all that aside, their cider is decent and well worth pursuing. It’s just a shame you experienced the customer service you did. Getting that right should be key for a cider producer who sells on the smaller scale.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

