Chateau de Brouay Cidre Bouche Normand – Brut Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Chateau deBrouay
Cider Name: Cidre Bouche Normand – Brut
Region: Normandy, France
ABV: 4.5%
Taste: Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 750ml bottle
Smell: Apples/Lightly rustic
Colour: Dull yellow/straw
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: A festival in Bristol in 2011
Date: 09/01/13

The fancy sparkling cider reviews are still on-going and up today is a cider I had forgotten I even had. It’s a Brut (dry) cidre bouche style cider from Chateau de Brouay.

Chateau de Brouay are a Normandy based cider/cidre producer who makes cider in the cidre bouche style from 23 varieties of organic cider apples they have at their chateau. They are not a new producer on me, as I had the demi-sec version last year, but it has been so long that it is as good as a new producer for me! The demi-sec sounded like a more fizzy version of the La Robeline Cidre de Jerri Dry Cider I had yesterday, which isn’t a bad thing at all. I have a hunch it’s probably another cider that isn’t to my standard taste, but fingers crossed this is a big surprise for me! Will this survive being around 1-2 years old very well or not is another question I have. I guess the only way to find out is in the tasting, which I better get on with now!

I popped the cork on this one and there was something lacking…..a huge sound of fizz. This sounded very silent, but poured with limited sparkle. I guess over that period that has been lost. It looks like it means cider doesn’t have the same lasting power that a champagne does, as I’ve known them to survive years and still have its fizz. This poured a dull yellow colour with a hint of straw about it and had the aroma of apples and lightly farmhouse/rustic. It definitely smells fine to me, so now onto the tasting!

It has a light tasty apple taste to begin with and then the dryness does kick in as you continue to drink more of it, although it is not an extreme dryness. It’s just a touch drier than a standard medium/dry, so on the lower end of dry. There’s definite oakyness feel about this in the aftertaste and some bitterness to the finish of this and a kind of hybrid between wine and farmhouse cider. It feels odd and good at the same time that the carbonation has left this bottle already. My main problem about this is the lack of depth to the flavour. It has nice and simple flavour to it, easy drinking too, but there’s just not enough about it and feels like it is lacking something. Maybe it’s lost it with age, but I can only judge it on how it is right now. I’d be interested to try a fresh batch of this, but I can’t imagine it will be to my taste.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly
Overall Rating: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

