Sheppy’s Dabinett (SV) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Sheppy’s
Cider Name: Dabinett (SV) Cider
Region: Somerset
ABV: 7.2%
Taste: Medium
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apples/Fruity/Lightly rustic
Colour: Golden yellow
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Sainsburys
Date: 21/01/13

As you can probably guess, tonight is a night in for me with more bad tv and I’m going to chalk up another review before I hit the hay in a bit. The second cider purchased today was the Sheppy’s Dabinett Single-Variety (SV) cider. With both of the ciders tonight being a fairly high ABV, I should sleep pretty sound tonight. I just dread having to get up in the morning!

This isn’t the first time I’ve bought a Dabinett (SV) from Sheppy’s, but it is the first one I will actually manage to drink it. Last time I bought one of these I ended up using it in a cider cake, which did turn out pretty damn good if I do say so myself.

Sheppy’s are one of the good guys who stock in most supermarkets and the Dabinett (SV) is one of the most common ones you will see along with their Vintage Reserve. The bottle doesn’t tell you too much different from the usual marketing spiel really; It’s a Somerset cider maker who has been going since the early 1800s, is made in the natural and proper way and the Dabinett should have a medium full-flavoured taste. There’s also no artificial colours/flavours and contains sulphites. So yep pretty standard stuff. Hopefully the taste is decent and at least as good as their Vintage Reserve.

It poured with a natural fizz in the glass but it disappeared in virtually the blink of an eye while I got my camera. One second it was there and then the next it had just vanished into thin air! That’s how I like it! The aroma is actually very nice. It has a good apple smell, slightly fruity and a touch of rustic feel about it.

The taste was actually very satisfying too and a nice ripe apple feel right from the off. It has a good light bittersweet apple taste up front and a mild dry yet bitter oaky feel to the aftertaste and a light bit of acidity/tannins. This is a cider which is very finely balanced and could certainly appeal to probably both the sweet and dry cider drinkers, though probably more on the sweeter side than dry. It’s not one that has an amazing excitement factor to it though, but it’s decent and easy to drink. It’s also probably not the best Dabinett (SV) cider I’ve ever had, but it was a lot more satisfying than the Thatchers 2011 Vintage I had earlier. If I’m shopping for cider in the supermarket, then this would definitely be on the list. If I’m going for a cider in a proper cider pub, then unfortunately it probably wouldn’t get a look in!

Would I buy this again?: Yes. It’s a good choice for a supermarket purchase.
Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

