Perry’s Farm Pressed Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Perry’s
Cider Name: Farm Pressed Dry Cider
Region: Somerset
ABV: 5%
Taste: Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Dry rustic apples
Colour: Dull golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 25/01/13

It’s Friday evening everyone and that means time to put up my feet and forget work for another few days. There’s no working over the weekend whatsoever, which means lots of cider drinking to be doing. Tonight feels a bit like Christmas Eve for me, as I have a whole day at the Bristol Cider Festival tomorrow. Some may say that I’m mad for doing that, which they are probably right, but I’m going to try to brave it! Up first tonight is the Perry’s Farm Pressed Dry Cider

Perry’s are a well-known medium/large producer from Somerset, who have made some cracking cider, such as the Single-Variety Somerset Redstreak. This particular one is the Dry version of their Farm Pressed Cider range. As you’d expect with Perry’s, this one is pressed and fermented using local apples and then left to mature for 6 months. The colour to look out for on their label for a dry is a light green and it’s available in the usual brown bottle. Design is short and simple and as usual it has a little story about them.

I’m actually pretty excited about finally getting to try the dry in their range. The sweet tasted good, the medium even better and I’m hoping the dry takes it up a further notch towards perfection. If I had these ciders as trading cards, then I’d just be one (single orchard) off completing my set. I’m so close but so far! Right it’s time to stop rambling and time to start drinking this bad boy!

This poured a dull golden colour and has light carbonation, which settled down pretty instantly to a near standstill. As i observe from a distance I can feel the aroma coming at me and it’s got a gorgeous dry rustic apple smell. I finally take my first sip and I have to say I like it, but not as much as I was hoping to. There’s a dry apple taste that hits you right from the off with plenty of tannins. This turns lightly sour/acidic and sharp at the end and has a fairly decent lingering taste in the mouth. The thing for me with this one is it’s probably slightly too dry to suit my palate. It’s a decent cider and well made, but you need to appreciate a good dry cider to get the most from it. If they made a medium mixed with their dry, then I think it would be exactly to my tasting and score much higher. These scores are about my personal preference and thus it gets the score it gets 🙂

Would I buy this again?: Yes, but prefer their medium
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

