Millwhites Rooksbridge Reserve Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Millwhites
Cider Name: Rooksbridge Reserve Cider
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Half pint at room temperature
Smell: Sweet apples
Colour: Dull yellow
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Festival
Date: 26/01/13

I made it to the Bristol Cider Festival bang on time and it’s starting to fill up nicely. The queues are non-existent and all bars are open. Lovely jubbly. I scan through the sheet and up first is number 62 – The Millwhites Rooksbridge Reserve.

I started with a Millwhites as it’s usually a safe option and it’s one I have yet to come across so far. I am still waiting on my first one to hate of theirs and hopefully today isn’t that day!

This is a still cider and has a dull yellow colour and bordering on orange. It has a pretty sweet smell to it too. A little bit of a caramel type smell to it. I take my first sip and it’s a pretty decent one too. There’s an initial sweet taste, which soon dries out with a little bitterness/sharpness too. If you want their usual harsh acidic bite, then you will be disappointed this one doesn’t have it. I find it smooth, easy drinking and satisfying. Not their best number but still decent.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

