Fallen Angel Scotch Bonnet Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Fallen Angel
Cider Name: Scotch Bonnet Cider
Region: Sussex
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Dry apples/Chillies
Colour: Dull yellow/Light brown
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 29/01/13

Today will bring out a first for me and this blog; I will finally get to find out how a chilli cider really tastes. I was given a bottle of this by the guys at the Bristol Cider Shop, as I think they were a bit too scared to try it and they also know I have a love for everything hot. Without further ado, the next one on my list is the Fallen Angel Scotch Bonnet Cider

On paper this sounds like a perfect thing for me, as I love both my chillies and cider in equal measures. Actually, no sod that. Cider still just pips it for me, but chilli is definitely hot on its heals! Oh dear that’s a couple of bad puns already down and I haven’t even opened this yet! The producer for this looks to be a Sussex beer microbrewery by trade, who has since branched out into making everything chilli! This ranges from chilli beer, to chilli ginger beer and finally the chilli cider.

The presentation for this cider is very beer orientated. This goes for the colour of the bottle, the shape and even down to the label. It’s hard to find any really relevant cider information on it except the fact it is “A strong cider brewed from the best apples with the scotch bonnet peppers giving it a pleasant heat”. What’s worrying is on the bottle it says it contains barley. I really hope that’s just a typo and should have been deleted off this label!

I’ve just opened this bottle and boy was it sparkling! You pour barely a 1/4 of a pint and the froth had already hit the top! This one I had to carefully pour for a good 30 seconds before it was all in the glass and the head had gone! This poured a bit of an odd colour if I’m honest. It had a light brown bottom to it and blended into a dull yellow at the top. As it’s slowly settling it is going a bit more of an orange/brown colour. It’s very dull and cloudy is all I can say!

The aroma isn’t the most pleasant for me. It has a light chilli feel to it and there is a lot of dry apples in the air for sure and has a slight hint of beer too. Maybe they really did put barley in it after all?!?! After that experience, I finally get around to tasting it and I can’t really say that I like it that much. There’s a sour/tart apple taste to start with (like an eastern feel to it), which just doesn’t go anywhere really and you end up with a mild chilli heat at the end of your drink, with a light peppery taste and a hint of beer. The cider part of the drink just doesn’t excite me at all and the chilli side of the drink is fairly mild, though it does increase with heat as you get to the end of your pint. Me personally, I just don’t get it at all. The chilli taste doesn’t really enhance the cider. If you had the cider on its own, I would imagine it would be fairly dull, monotone and a little watery. I was hoping the 2 tastes would intertwine and excite the tastebuds, however that just didn’t happen. I can’t say I will be coming back for this cider anytime soon.

Would I buy this again?: No
Overall Rating: 4/10

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Patrick Huff said,

    This sounds like a beer cider hybrid. Tricky. Chili has been a nre trend lately.

  2. 2

    Nice review! Did you know the Apple on Welshback is introducing some new guest ciders tonight?

    • 3

      TheCiderBlog said,

      Cheers for the comment. Much appreciated 🙂 Yeah I heard they mentioned about a guest cider going on later for £1 a half. Just a shame I can’t make it, as I already have plans 😦 If you’re going along you will have to let me know what they had!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

