Pork, Chorizo, Bacon, Chickpea & Cider Stew Recipe Review

Pork, Chorizo, Bacon, Chickpea & Cider Stew Recipe

Vital Stats:

Dish Name: Pork, Chorizo, Bacon, Chickpea & Cider Stew
Original Recipe Origin: BBC Good Food Website
Ingredients:

800g skinless, boneless pork shoulder , cut into large bite-sized chunks
120g cooking chorizo (Bath Pig Spicy Chorizo) , sliced into thin rounds
3 rashers of smoked back bacon, chopped into bite-sized chunks
125g bacon lardons
1 large onion , chopped
1 large carrot , finely chopped
4 medium-sized closed cup mushrooms , finely chopped
Small pinch dried chilli flakes
Small pinch paprika
2 garlic cloves , finely chopped
4 bay leaves
sprig of thyme
1 tbsp chilli tomato purée
1/2 pint of dry cider (Wilkins)
400g tin chopped tomatoes
400g tin chickpeas , drained and rinsed
Fresh chopped parsley

Cooking Instructions: Add all ingredients from above into a slow cooker, stir and then leave it to cook. I also stirred at 4 hours in.
Optional Instructions: Use plain flour/Corn flour around 10 mins from the end to thicken sauce, if needed.
Cooking Method: 3.5l slow cooker on low setting
Cooking Time: 8 hours
Serving Suggestion: Serve with bread or potatoes
Serves: 5-6

Review:

I’ve recently got myself a slow cooker to try to make cooking a bit more pleasurable and easy for me, rather than slog it out over a hot stove and hope it cooks properly! I love the concept of slow cooking. You just cut everything up, put it in the slow cooker before work and by the time you finish you have dinner waiting for you. Some may say that is the point in having a housewife/husband, but unfortunately I have neither, so the slow cooker it is! My first ever recipe using this was for the Pork, Chorizo, Bacon, Chickpea & Cider Stew.

The idea of cider and food going hand-in-hand has always inspired me and has been something I’ve been meaning to do for a while. Though since my cooking skills are pretty basic and limited to place X in oven for X mins, I thought I’d start easy with a slow cooked meal. I’ve been told you can’t go wrong with them. Well, if anyone can, I’m sure I will! Though oddly enough I’m actually pretty decent at baking, but I guess you get taught these things as kids? Or maybe was just me!

Anyway, I set off in making this and I’m stumbling at the first hurdle. I hadn’t a clue what a sprig was and how the hell you prepare thyme. 2 mins later, Google showed me the way and off I went. I chopped everything up as mentioned and put it all in the slow cooker. I wanted to make this a little spicier than the original recipe, so I substituted chorizo for a spicy chorizo and I also had a pretty mean tube of chilli tomato puree that I used instead of the regular. All was set, the slow cooker was up and running and off to work I went. Well, work for me is from home, so I was about 10 feet away from it all times. That started to drive me mad with all the good smells going about and I eventually gave in and stirred it at about half way. Oh god that was smelling so tempting!

Another 4 hours later, it was the evening and I had my other half and a friend over for dinner. Not too much pressure eh? My first cider meal I am making and I don’t have to just make something that I’d like, but also make sure my friends did too! Luckily for me they like things on the spicier side! The suspense was over and dinner was ready. Well, it’s either that or a quick call to the local takeaway!

We sat down to taste it and…….A SUCCESS!!! The pork was very moist and just fell apart in your mouth, the chickpeas were melt in your mouth and there was a fair level of spice, but not overpowering! Any fat that was in there had virtually melted/blended in with the sauce to give it more flavour and I found no chewyness in any of the meat, which I have seen before when you cook it regularly. The cider also gave a bit of body to the sauce and it felt just right. I’m no food critic, or will ever claim to be, but it’s one of the nicest meals I have had in a long time!

Any Improvements?: Possibly thicken sauce. Maybe a little more cider.
Overall Rating: 9.5/10

Leave a Reply

