Bridge Farm Chilli Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Bridge Farm
Cider Name: Chilli Cider
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Medium Cider/Lightly spicy chilli
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Jalapeno/Sweet apples
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 03/02/13

I’ve had such a crazy busy last few days, which has meant I’ve been slacking in trying out new ciders! That’s not like me, so I’m going to have to rectify that now! I have a quiet night in planned and time to crack open the Bridge Farm Chilli Cider.

After my previous unhappy experience of chilli cider, I thought I’d try another as a comparison, which is the Bridge Farm Chilli Cider. The first noticeable difference with this one is it is actually made from a genuine cider maker and is in collaboration with Upton Cheyney Chilli Farm, who as you can tell do know their chillies too! Will this be a match made in heaven? Or is chilli and cider just not meant to be put together? I shall find that out now!

This has a clear bottle, is a bright golden colour and actually has a proper Jalapeno in the bottle too! The label is pretty simple and effective and has a picture of an apple and chilli and that equals a man who is one happy Scoville after having it. Fingers crossed I will be too.

I open the cider up and pour it in my glass and boy you can smell the Jalapenos straight away! There is a lightly sweet apple smell there too, but that takes a backseat in the smell stakes I’m afraid! The good part in this is there is no carbonation at all and is as flat as a pancake. Carbonation + chillies would probably wreck havoc to the average person, as it would increase the intensity of the heat!

I finally take my first sip and wow I’m not sure what I was expecting or hoping, but it is nice and fiery. There’s a smooth apple taste initially, although that isn’t for too long, then the jalapeno comes into its own and gives you a fiery hit to the back of the throat, tingles those tastebuds and a warm fuzzy feeling inside. The cider itself is simple, smooth, tasty and easy-going, although it’s a shame it is very short-lived as part of this drink. This drink is all about the chillies and if you don’t like them then you won’t enjoy the experience at all. Personally, I love a good chilli and the chilli is tasty. This is more of a chilli drink with cider, rather than the other way around in my opinion.

Overall, I would probably have this once in a while for a chilli and cider fix all in one, but not to enjoy a good cider, as you can’t taste it for too long. If the chilli taste was somehow toned down more and you could feel more of the good cider taste, then we’d be onto a winner. At the end of the day it’s a nice gimmick, but I think I’ll probably stick to having my chilli and cider fixes separately, rather than as one.  It’s hard to give this a rating really, as it’s in a strange category on its own, but purely for the enjoyment I got I give it a 7.5. This was definitely the best of the 2 chilli ciders I’ve had so far.

Would I buy this again?: Once in a while
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

