Dunkertons Premium Organic Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Dunkertons
Cider Name: Premium Organic Cider
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6.8%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Sweet apples/Light rhubarb
Colour: Dull golden/Yellow
Clarity: Lightly cloudy
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From:
Date:

After a tasty Oliver’s Traditional Cider, I’ve got the urge to try more ciders and by golly that’s what I’ll do tonight. There was 6 on the shelf and I closed my eyes and hoped for the best. What has been selected randomly this time is the Premium Organic Cider by Dunkertons

This is another Herefordshire cider and if past experiences are anything to go by then it should be a decent one. The Black Fox and Dry Organic were both amazing, so can this follow suit? The first thing I notice is it is a Medium/Sweet cider. Now for me a Medium/Sweet can be very hit and miss. Some taste decent and some are just too sickly sweet. With it being a Dunkertons, I’m hoping for the former and not the latter. The usual blurb is on the back about Dunkertons being a truly organic cider producer. For me that isn’t a priority, but if it is for you, then there’s a tick in the box done.

As I poured this out it had a fizzy initial spurt, which soon died down to barely the occasional bubble rising. Thank god there isn’t the constant sparkle going on! I have a quick sniff of the glass and I have to say it feels lightly sweet, good apple smell and even a light rhubarb type hint to it. The colour is a lot more dull and cloudy than I was expecting and it is a mix between a yellow and gold.

I take my first sip and it is fairly sweet, juicy, good light apple sour taste and just very smooth and sexy. I’m not usually a Medium/Sweet Cider fan, but this is an exception to that rule. Whilst it is sweet, it is certainly not sickly too. It’s well-balanced, has a good level of acidity and tannins, which seems a little masked by the sweet taste. The aftertaste is really lovely too with a lightly dry and tart feel, with a gorgeous oak feel living on for a good while after drinking it. I’d personally prefer it a little less sweet, but that doesn’t take away from it that it’s a decent cider. I could happily drink a few of these and probably wouldn’t even notice!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Pete MacLeod said,

    Very nice cider. Like you, I usually prefer one a little less sweet to this, but I found it very drinkable, with lots going on in the flavour. Would make a good cider for a summer barbecue, light but robust enough to drink with burgers etc. I think it would be a good cider to give to your average Magners drinker (who probably expects something on the sweet side), to make them realise that ciders can be so much better than Magners. Dunkertons are one of my favourite producers…unfortunately they are hard to find here in Scotland.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

