Ross-On-Wye Alpaca ‘Perry’ Medium Dry Perry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Ross-On-Wye
Perry Name: Alpaca ‘Perry’ Medium Dry Perry
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Light pears/Oak (Rum Barrel?)
Colour: Light straw
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 07/02/13

Then there were 2……this is getting quite depressing that the cider/perry stocks are diminishing so quickly. Though at the same time it also means I am trying lots of decent cider/perries, so every cloud has a silver lining as they say! I close my eyes and go to pick something new and up pops the Ross-On-Wye Alpaca ‘Perry’ Medium Dry Perry. A perry you say? That’ll do nicely!

Ross-On-Wye (or Broome Farm) are a Herefordshire producer and are probably in my top 5 producers in that region. Like Oliver’s, it’s hard to really go wrong with a cider/perry from Ross-On-Wye. Every one of them seems to be a decent quality, though of course some are more to my palate than others. Having had their Farmhouse Perry a while back when I visited, it will be interesting to see how this one compares.

This perry is one of the select few that has the lovely alpaca picture on the bottle, which happens to be called Perry in this case too! If you didn’t know, then alpacas are allowed to roam their farm and help with the grazing. Most places go for pigs/sheep/cows, but having alpacas is definitely something else! The name just feels so exotic for a start! Other than the logo, then there really isn’t too much else to the label. It’s simple, it says it may contain sulphites and you have to drink it within 3 days of opening. Who actually opens a 500ml bottle and doesn’t drink it all there and then?!?! I know I certainly couldn’t. Sure, there are some drinks out there that are just undrinkable, but surely you would bin it than try it again a few days later? With the UK being a bit H&S mad, I’m sure they only put it on there to cover their own arses. Anyway I’m going a bit too much off tangent, so I will stop waffling and get on with the opening!

I opened this up, poured it out and it had a light straw colour and a very interesting aroma. You can smell some pears in it, however it is being overshadowed by the oaky aroma. I’m not brilliant at figuring out which type of oak barrel it is, but my mind is telling me it is a rum barrel…. <5 minutes later>… I’ve just gone to check out the rums on my spirits shelf and yep I’m 99% sure it’s rum barreled.

My first sip has finally happened and it’s not a bad perry indeed, however not brilliant either for a pear taste. It’s fairly watery in texture and you get a light pear taste to begin with, but then the rum barreled flavours just take over. After the initial taste, it turns lightly bitter and fairly dry, though not dry your mouth out dry. I’m struggling to say stuff about the pear taste because there isn’t a huge one to it. It’s like a rum barrel flavoured drink with a hint of perry. Me personally, I’m a rum fan too so it doesn’t bother me, but if you don’t then it might not be your thing. Even though I do like it, it would be nice if it had more of a pear taste to it. For a proper perry taste, their Farmhouse Perry I had onsite was head and shoulders above this one.

Would I buy this again?: Yes, but not one of my favourites of theirs.
Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

