Ross-On-Wye Medium Dry Rum Barreled Perry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Ross-On-Wye
Perry Name: Medium Dry Rum Barreled Perry
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 7%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 750ml bottle
Smell: Sweet pears/Rum/Oak
Colour: Light straw
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 13/02/13

I had a day off the new ciders last night for a pancake eating competition. For anyone who knows me well, I have a huge appetite for my food, as well as my cider. Sadly this time I didn’t win it, but I had a lovely 10 pancakes to enjoy. Well, someone might say scoff them, but I like to say I enjoyed it too! To get back in the swing of things before my weekly pub quiz, I’m going to have a Ross-On-Wye drink to narrow down the 5 I have of theirs! Up tonight is their Medium Dry Rum Barreled Perry.

Ross-On-Wye feature yet again today, as I got a huge batch of them last week from the Bristol Cider Shop. I do worry what I will do when I have tried out all of their stock, but then again there’s plenty of cider farms to visit. I will have to plan one of those trips soon! Any ideas on suggestions of where I should go?

Just under a week ago I had the ‘Alpaca’ Medium/Dry Perry, from Ross-On-Wye, which tasted heavily of Rum within the taste. I’m having a guess up front that this might be similar to that one. I’m hoping this one will have a little lighter rum taste, so the proof will be within the tasting as they say! My fingers are now firmly crossed.

The bottle is your standard Ross-On-Wye bottle, with the usual logo and good information on the list of ingredients. It’s made from perry pear juice, natural sugar and sulphites. That is all folks and they proudly display they are a whole juice company. If only other companies were so honest with everything that goes in to the bottle too.

As I open the bottle I hear complete silence. Ah silence is bliss and thankfully no fizz in sight. I take in the aroma next and it has a decent sweet pear feel, with a hint of rum and oak too. I love the smell personally, but will the taste be overpowered by the rum?

The initial feel is of lightly sweet pears, which then sees the rum taste come through with a sour/sharp citrus feel and a drying, yet warming finish. The aftertaste is a mix of wood, rum and a drying feel in your mouth. The drink is smooth, very drinkable, has a decent pear taste and is not as overpowering with the rum feel, as the Alpaca Perry felt like. If they reigned in the rum taste that little bit more, then it would be that extra bit better. I personally like this and would happily have it again, though if you are not a fan of the rum barreled taste, then it might not be your thing.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

