Paglesham Punch Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Paglesham Punch
Cider Name: Cider
Region: Essex
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apples/Dry
Colour: Dull Yellow
Clarity: Slightly Cloudy
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 15/02/13

The end of the week is finally here and I’ve had a somewhat productive day, which makes a change from how frustrating some days can be! Work was pretty decent and amidst all of this I even helped plumb in the washing machine at my other halfs house. Definitely not as hard as it seems it should be. If you’re a plumber out there, I might be after your job next…..ok actually maybe not! I’ve seen the state some of the houses can be that you have to visit! Anyway, I’ve just arrived at my friends for dinner and I picked the first bottle from my shelf that I could before I left, this today happens to be the Paglesham Punch.

This would be the point where I’d tell you all about them, but quite frankly I’m at a bit of a loose end really. All I know is that they are based in Essex, it is produced by Gary Ross and Tony Legget and they are on the small-scale side of things. If anyone has anymore information, then please send it my way, as I’d be interested to find out more. Other than that, it’s a classic beer bottle style bottle and has a simple label just saying who they are and the fact it is an organic strong dry cider. With it being Essex based, my initial impression is it should be made with dessert/cooking apples. Though of course I could be completely wrong! It’s time to unravel the mystery now and see what this bottle has to offer…

This poured sparkling and has a dry apple aroma coming from it. I take my first sip and surprisingly it’s not too bad. The first sip is like biting into a fresh green apple and is definitely of the eastern style cider variety. Once you have gone past the initial apple taste, you have a lasting dry taste, which feels enhanced by the fizz. It’s fairly low on tannins and has a light citrus sharp finish. This isn’t my favourite style of cider I would go for, but it’s fairly good for what it is. If you like eastern style of cider, then give this one a go.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly, if I wanted an Eastern style cider
Overall Rating: 7/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Maggie Osborn said,

    It’s on sale at the Plough & Sail in Paglesham, and the White Hart pub and Vens Shop in Hockley, Essex.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

