Lawrences Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Lawrences Cider
Cider Name: Dry
Region: Dorset
ABV: 6%
Taste: Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Rustic apples
Colour: Dull orange
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 28/02/13

I’ve had a really slack week with the new cider reviews haven’t I. Trying to find the time lately to actually sit down and do a review has proved quite troublesome. However, today is the day I can sit back and relax and crack open a bottle of something new. Today that is the Dry cider from Lawrences

As my Medium review of theirs said, they are based in Corton Denham, Dorset and have in recent years won some 2nd and 3rd place finishes at the annual Powerstock cider festival. However, they have actually got a website now and it looks pretty swish. Go check it out to find out a bit more about them. Their cider setup looks decent from the picture too. They handpick apples from local orchards and then using a mill and modern press (was a wooden rack and cloth press) to finish the job. The cider is then matured in oak barrels to give it a deeper and richer flavour. As I’ve had their Medium previously, I know the cider is of a decent quality, though will the dry be an even bigger favourite for me? I’ll just have to go try it out now won’t I!

This cider poured a dull orange colour and is as flat as a pancake; just how I like it! The aroma is of rustic apples and has a distinct dry feel on the nose. If you close your eyes and have a sniff, then you could imagine being in a farmhouse there and then. After taking my first sip I have to say it has a crisp bittersweet apple feel, juicy and then the dryness and tannins hit your mouth big time. Boy it feels dry, though that isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Towards the end of your mouthful you have a lightly sour sensation, more dryness and end with a light oaky feel, which lingers for a good while. This is probably a little drier than I would tend to go for usually, though at the same time it is tasty and moreish. I’m edging towards preferring the Medium, but that is all about personal preference more than anything. If you like your ciders on the dry side, then you’re in for a treat here.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

