Ross-On-Wye Farmhouse Medium/Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Ross-On-Wye
Cider Name: Farmhouse Medium/Dry
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Rustic apples/Light ethanol
Colour: Dull yellow
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Ross-On-Wye
Date: 14/03/13

After a busy few days, where I saw the mighty Bristol Rovers win and then a win in the pub quiz last night, I feel it is time to keep on the winning feeling and have a decent cider tonight. After my impromptu trip to Herefordshire last weekend, I have plenty to choose from and it is a dilemma even beginning to choose one. The random ‘close my eyes and pick one’ method has come in to play already, with the Ross-On-Wye Medium/Dry cider being the tipple of choice chosen this time.

An experience to Ross-On-Wye is always a happy one for me, where you get to see the farm it is all made on right in front of you and then you are taken to the cider cellar for the tastings. They are definitely up there near the top of my favourite cider makers in Herefordshire. If you’ve had their cider before you’ll know what I mean and no doubt agree. On my last trip I picked up a bottle or 2 of their cider, a couple of litres of their perry and finally the Medium/Dry Cider. The cider is a blend of cider apples, though unfortunately this barrel was unlabeled, so you didn’t know what apples they were. If the dry was anything to go by, then it is Ashton, Browns and Dabinett.

As you’d expect with a proper farmhouse cider, it has that really gorgeous farmhouse smell and dull yellow cloudy appearance. Just smelling it brings back memories of trying it right from the barrel. You can also sense some ethanol in the air too.

I take my first sip and wow is such an appropriate word. You feel a gorgeous apple taste and then the acidity and dryness bring it into a world of its own. Tannins are decent, there’s a hint of sharpness with a little lemony feel, but I find it really easy to drink and not overpowering. The aftertaste lingers well and a very tiny oakiness to it. Just drinking this is such a pleasurable and exciting experience. Only getting 4 pints was my biggest mistake. Highly recommend.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

