Oliver’s Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Oliver’s
Cider Name: Dry
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6%
Taste: Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Apples/Citrus
Colour: Dull yellow/Orange
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Oliver’s Cider Farm
Date: 15/03/13

You know what time it is don’t you?!?! It’s Friday night and the weekend is finally here! That means a few days of relaxation and not need to worry about work….well maybe it is for you, but not for me, unfortunately. I have to work tomorrow morning! Eek! I best get some cider down me now then and enjoy what I can of this weekend. The random cider for tonight is the Oliver’s Dry Cider.

Ah, Oliver’s Cider. It has been a while but it’s good that you’re back in my life now! Although they are more well-known for their exceptional perry, their cider aint bad either. Ok, that’s an understatement I know, as it is usually top-notch! I’ve previously had their Scrumpy and Medium versions and loved them both, so I’m hoping the Dry can follow suit too.

This poured a shade between orange and yellow, has a beautiful rustic feel to the aroma and just looks and feels like a traditional cider should. Having a cloudy farmhouse cider is what I live for and this looks and smells the part already. Now can it seal the deal and taste great too? There’s only one way to find out…

I take in the first sip and boy this is a dry one. It’s nearly bone dry, though falls just short of that, which is just how I prefer it. There’s the initial juicy apple burst in your mouth and then the dryness goes into overdrive and has a decent level of tannins to back it up with. Towards the end of your mouthful you feel a citrus sharpness, which makes your mouth pucker a little and then the oaky feeling lives on for a good while afterwards. If you don’t like your cider dry, then this might not be for you, but it works well for me. It’s a very tasty cider and I’ll certainly be going back for more. Top job again Tom!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

