Butford Organics Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Butford Organics Cider
Cider Name: Dry
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 8%
Taste: Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Sweet apple/Rustic/Dry
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Butford Organics
Date: 16/03/13

After being up since 7am working, whilst no doubt everyone else was having a lovely lie-in, I think I have earned myself a cider today already. Yes it maybe only lunchtime, but I shall be starting the day as I mean to go on. I’m now onto my last choice of new draught ciders and therefore the choice is easy. Today I shall be starting off with the Butford Organics Dry Cider.

This is the 3rd Butford Organics cider I’ve had recently, after the delightful Medium Cider & Perry, and I’m actually really looking forward to it. As their name suggests, they are a full organic cider/perry company and do not even use sulphites in their cider.

The Dry cider is based on the same apples as their Medium, which is the Brown Snout, Dabinett & Vilberie, but is supposed to be a little more dry obviously. This was part of the previous years before batch and therefore should be a little more mature than if it was only a few months old. As I’ve mentioned previously, the labelling is spot on and tells you everything you need to know about the cider. I wish more producers were as honest as they are! It’s always nice to know what apples were used in the cider. It helps educate me more for a start.

Having now poured the cider into my glass, it is very clear and has a golden/amber colour to it. As this is so clear, I assume this is down to racking it off. The smell is just so gorgeous and heavenly; There’s a little rustic farmhouse feel, sweet apples and a beautiful oaky aroma.

As I take my first sip you get a really juicy, fruity apple taste to begin with. This then has some acidity coming through to bring a tangy taste, whilst you can feel a decent level of tannins in there as well. The aftertaste is all about the oak and the gripping dryness you are left with in your mouth, with a sharp and lightly bitter twang. It’s a drink that starts oh so smooth and then leaves your mouth more dried out the more you drink it. Yet again you must like your ciders dry to really appreciate it and thankfully this works well for me. I definitely would recommend it.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

