Hereford Bull Medium/Sweet Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Hereford Bull
Cider Name: Cider (Medium/Sweet)
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 7%
Taste: Medium
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Bittersweet apples/
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Truffles Deli, Ross-On-Wye
Date: 19/03/13

Thank god it’s the end of the working day today. I’ve had to deal with too many people who just don’t understand anything logical and I’ve felt like bashing my head against a brick wall all day! Luckily the evening is here and it’s time to relax with a cider before going out for a bite to eat in a bit. Todays random selection is the Hereford Bull Cider.

This cider is a completely new one on me. I can’t say I’ve ever heard of the company Hereford Bull and from looking at the bottle it is named after the Hereford Bull, which grazes beneath their apple trees. Their cider is made naturally from their own orchard, which has had traditional cider apples growing since the 16th Century. The only thing added to the blend is a sugar, sulphites and pure apple juice. None of the other artificial flavours or sweeteners are used, thankfully. Other than this information, I can’t really find much else about them. They do have a website, but there’s only an email address and phone number on there. That isn’t the most helpful, so I’ll just take this cider as a surprise and shut up now. It’s time to open it up now….

As I was pouring the cider out, you could tell it was a lightly fizzy cider, as there was a good foamy head to it and taking a while to pour. Once this had poured, it had a fairly strong bittersweet apple aroma and bright golden/amber colour to it. It certainly smells the part and is very appetising. Hopefully it can taste the part too and more of the medium side of things and not the medium/sweet it says.

I take my first sip and it is fairly sweet to begin with, but then the more you drink of it the less sweet it feels. It has a light acidic tang near the start of your sip, though this cider is more about the deep bittersweet taste and then the tannins coming through, which eventually leaves you with a drier finish. I do quite like this one, though there’s a bitterness in there which is just stopping my enjoyment a bit. It’s probably around the middle of my cider list. I don’t hate this one by any stretch of the imagination, yet at the same time I have not fallen in love with it either. I’d happily try another one of their ciders though, when I finally spot another one on my travels.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

