Celtic Marches Abrahalls Dry Still Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Celtic Marches
Cider Name: Abrahalls Dry Still Cider
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Apples
Colour: Dull yellow
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

From: Celtic Marches
Date: 21/03/13

Wow, time has flown by again this week! Since my last review I’ve gone and won a pub quiz, worked too hard and also booked a camping trip in May for a friend’s birthday. As they say, you have to work hard and play hard and I’m certainly doing that. Whilst I have a bit of free time, I think I’ll go try some new ciders out. Up first tonight is the Celtic Marches Abrahalls Dry Still Cider.

Celtic Marches are a Herefordshire based cider producer who make their cider the traditional way. This is made from 100% cider apples grown on their orchard and no artificial sweeteners are added. As with their other ciders, it has a hedgehog featured on their branding, which is quite distinctive and a good design.

This is the 3rd cider I have tried from Celtic Marches, but the first time I’ve progressed beyond their medium cider. What the previous 2 seemed to lack was a bit more dryness in the taste and the wow factor, so I’m hoping this is the one I’ve been waiting for of theirs. As with the medium still, this is made from Dabinett, Michelin and Kingston Black apples. The Dabinett and Kingston Black are the more exciting apples used, whereas the Michelin is more of a bulking apple and not really used for its taste. It’ll be interesting to see if the apple mix between the 3 is different on this one or if it’s just a drier version of the medium. It’s time to find that out now…

It poured a dull yellow colour, clear and has a very appley aroma. Though the aroma is appley, it has a really interesting dry feel to it too and lightly floral. I take my first sip and you get hit with the bittersweet apple taste right away, then the tannins and citric sharpness takeover the end of the taste, with a lingering dryness running throughout it. Yet again it feels like a more exciting Thatchers Heritage, though the dryness is at the right level for me. Overall it’s an easy-drinking cider, moreish and worth a try to see if it’s your thing. For me personally it’s lacking something to take it from a good cider to a great cider. I like my cider more on the acidic side and I didn’t feel that with this one, unfortunately.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Disclaimer: This was a free sample from Celtic Marches, however this had no bearing on my review of this cider.

Leave a Reply

