Ross-On-Wye Eddie’s Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Ross-On-Wye
Cider Name: Eddie’s Cider
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6%
Taste: Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Ripe rustic apples
Colour: Dull yellow/Golden
Clarity: Lightly cloudy
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Ross-On-Wye
Date: 21/03/13

After having the good experience of the Celtic Marches Abrahalls Dry Still Cider earlier, my 2nd cider of the night is going to be a random pick from the fridge. I close my eyes and aim to pick something cider related from the fridge and it ends up being the Ross-On-Wye Eddie’s Cider, though it was oh so close to being a box of eggs!

This cider was picked up from my recent tour to Herefordshire, where I visited many producers and amongst them was Ross-On-Wye. Whilst I had decided on the draught cider/perry to get, I left the bottles to pick up to my other half and she ended up picking this one, amongst a couple of others. I think she liked the picture of Eddie on the front, who is the Ross-On-Wye producers cat. They love having their animals on their bottles don’t they?!?! Though it does add a nice touch at the same time too. It gives the cider a bit of character and not just a name.

As the full name of the cider is ‘Eddie’s Cider with attitude and bite!’, I’m expecting this to do exactly what it says on the tin. I’m hoping it’s a challenging cider and does have some bite. As I’m making my journey through the world of cider and learning what I really like, I’m hoping this is more the acidic bite and not the bitter bite. The only way to find this out is to shut up and actually drink some of it, so that’s just what I’ll do now!

As I opened the cider it gave off a small hiss and poured briefly with a head, however that soon disappeared, which left you with just the occasional rising bubbles. It looks like the carbonation is not too overactive, which is a good thing. The aroma is of really ripe rustic apples and definitely more the farmhouse feel. There is some minor sediment in this cider, which doesn’t bother me at all. The label says it is naturally conditioned cider, so it was to be expected.

I take my first sip of the cider and you get the initial burst of apples, however the sour sharpness takes over and boy does it! I hope you like your mouth having a puckering experience, as it sure gets that after your first mouthful. There’s also fair levels of acidity, but not overpowering, and the bubbles do enhance your experience with this one. The aftertaste is dry, lightly oaky and fairly mellow compared to your initial experience. I can’t say I’m blown away by this cider, but it certainly is unique, has character and attitude. The label hasn’t lied on that one! You’d need to like your ciders dry and sour/sharp to really enjoy this experience.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Patrick Huff said,

    I think I would have enjoyed this. Sour and farmhouse have been my thing lately.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

