Gillow Brown Snout (SV) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Gillow
Cider Name: Brown Snout (SV)
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6.4%
Taste: Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 750ml bottle
Smell: Apples/Dry
Colour: Dull orange
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Truffles Deli, Ross-On-Wye
Date: 26/03/13

Today has been one of those days I’d rather forget, as work was just pants, but thankfully that’s over with for another day. I actually only remembered today that I’ve only got 2 more days left of the week! That’s an added bonus. I always remember Easter being in April and thus forget it fell this weekend. You can tell I’m in no way religious can’t you! Now we just need the weather to pick up a bit too! Right, less of the rambling and time to move on to tonight’s cider, which is going to be the Brown Snout Single Variety (SV) from Gillow.

I have come across Gillow twice before and I’ve had a mixed experience with them. The Knicker Dropper was a really tasty cider and one I’d happily have again, but the Tom Putt (SV) was not really to my taste. That one I think was mainly down to the Tom Putt being a hard SV to get right and it was at Camras request to do it. Therefore I’ll go in with an open mind with this one (as always) and hope it turns out good. I’ve had decent Brown Snout SV ciders before, so I know the apple can be good all on its own.

For anyone who’s never heard of Gillow before, then they are a small Herefordshire producer who produce cider from their own orchard. The process of milling, pressing and bottling is all done by hand and in the traditional way. They sound like just your typical small cider producer and to be honest it’s the cider I prefer the most. There’s always that extra love and care that seems to go into every bottle, which the bigger producers do not always have.

The apple itself, the Brown Snout, is a 19th Century Herefordshire variety, bittersweet and should have soft tannins. As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve had a decent cider from this variety and have high hopes for it. All the ingredients in this bottle is just naturally fermented cider apple juice and sulphites. That sounds great to me and it’s now time to open up this bottle.

One of the first things I noticed with the bottle is the layer of sediment at the bottom. That’s no issue to me, but for anyone who doesn’t like it too much, then be careful when pouring. It poured a dull orange colour, completely still and has a lovely apple aroma, with a hint of dryness about it too.

I take my first sip and you get a really good acidic bite take over your mouth, lots of dryness and some soft tannins coming through. After the initial burst, it is actually quite a mellow cider and has a really nice fruity apple feel, with a hint of nut about it too. Although this is certainly a dry cider, it is not bone-dry. You’re left with a really nice tingling of dryness on the gums and a smile on your face. The final aftertaste is a good level of lingering dryness and I’m feeling only a slight feel of oak. My only criticism is there is a lightly watery texture to it and could be a bit more fuller flavour. It’s still tasty as it is though and I’d happily have another of these again.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    cidermonger said,

    Great review…sounds awesome! I’d love to see more still cider in Canada & US.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

