Chiblers October Perry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Chiblers
Perry Name: October
Region: Gloucestershire
ABV: 5.5%
Taste: Medium
Served: Lightly chilled 750ml bottle
Smell: Sweet pears
Colour: Golden/Straw
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Truffles Deli, Ross-On-Wye
Date: 27/03/13

Today has been a really funny old day for the weather. I start in Bristol with a flurry of snow on the M4, get to Bridgend to some surprising sunshine (god how I missed that!) and then back home to even worse snow back into Bristol. Have we become a snow hotspot? I hope not. I want BBQ weather back, have a chilled cider/perry on the side and enjoy the day in my garden. I’d rather have to use my fridge for the chilling, rather than just having to stick it outside the door! Anyway, I brought in a bottle of perry from outside to enjoy before dinner and up today is the October Perry from Chiblers.

Here’s where I would love to tell you all about the guys behind Chiblers October Perry, but quite frankly I can’t really find any information at all. All I can see is they make it in the village of Kempley, which is in the Forest Of Dean, near the Herefordshire border. That’s certainly cider and perry territory, which is a good thing. The people behind it, according to Google, are Geoff and Danni Newman. My information on them has now run out. Does anyone else know anything further? I’d love to find out a bit more.

The perry itself is made from the Blakeney Red, Red Pear & High Pear 2010 pear varieties. The first 2 are familiar to me, and are a medium sharp (Blakeney Red) and sweet (Red Pear) pears respectively, though I’ve never heard of the High Pear before. Apparently this is also a sweet pear, so it will be interesting to see how that adds to the mix and hopefully not too on the sweet side. The other information on the bottle is their address and the fact the perry is made of old varieties from traditional orchards. Other than that, this will be another surprise for me and fingers crossed it’s a good one!

I opened up the bottle and yet again I struck gold with this being a still one. It poured a light golden/straw colour and had the aroma of sweet pears, though there smelt a bit of zest and oomph in the air as well. My first taste is of a lightly sweet, delicate pear, which is soon taken over by a gripping acidic slap to the face and a lightly sharp finish. It’s one of these perries that is smooth and easy drinking at times, but you get a nice sour, acidic and crisp bite in the middle. The tongue does tingle on for a while after having this and I actually really like it. As I’ve said many times before, I’m not a huge perry fan, but this has won me over. My only criticism of this perry is that I wish it was on the more dry side of medium.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Patrick Huff said,

    Shall we call this first love? for a perry? We had snow yesterday. rI am over it.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

