North Hall Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: North Hall
Cider Name: Cider
Region: Devon
ABV: 7.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Acidic apples
Colour: Dull golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: The Orchard Inn, Bristol
Date: 31/03/13

This weekend has been a mental one. Lots of football and drinking, an amazing Sunday roast and now a few pints in the best cider pub in Bristol. The Orchard Inn is like an institution and if I was a religious man, then I’d be here every week to pray to the cider god. Tonight’s tipple is the North Hall Cider from Devon.

Before 30 mins ago I hadn’t even heard of the cider. Now I’ve heard a bit more and it’s a producer from Devon, I’m intrigued to see what it’s all about.

The cider poured a dull golden colour and had a hell of an acidic smell to it. It’s bordering on vinegar, but strangely a gorgeous aroma too. I take my first sip and boy it’s highly acidic. Your teeth feel dry and fizzing and I actually love it. This is one to put hairs on your chest. It’s a beast of a cider and not to be taken lightly. It tingles and tangles all of the tastebuds and is so on my wavelength. Tannins are not high, though it is sour and very acidic. It’s definitely not one for everyone. Approach with caution, but it’s certainly something I’ll keep going back for.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

