Barnes & Adams Tyndale Gold (2011) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Barnes & Adams
Cider Name: Tyndale Gold (2011) Cider
Region: Gloucestershire
ABV: 4.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Fruity/Sweet apples
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 04/04/13

After a long days work in Wales, there’s nothing better than coming home to a quiet house and cracking open a bottle of cider. Ah how I love that feeling of going from tired and frustrated, to just bliss. How I can’t wait for that feeling right now. To put me in the mood for a good evening I’m going to be starting with a Tyndale Gold Cider by Barnes & Adams.

This is another producer I know very little about, but thanks to the power of the internet I have found out so much more now. Sometimes I wonder how some people survived before the world-wide-web came into existence! The guys behind this cider are John Barnes and Matt Adams, who run the business from Wotton in Gloucestershire. From the looks of it they are more on the small-scale side of things at present and have been selling cider for just over a year. As it mentions this is a 2011 year cider on the bottle, I can only assume this was probably one of their first commercial batches. Of all the ciders they have listed on their site, this is probably not the first one I’d choose, but it sounds a safe/easy option. The Berkeley Vale cider does sound good indeed (according to their description), so it will have to be the next one of theirs I’d try.

From having a look at the bottle now, it appears it’s called Tyndale Gold after the Tyndale Monument (North Nibley), which overlooks many of the orchards they get their apples from. Come to think of it, all of their ciders/perries look to be named after places close to them in Wotton. This must be their niche and something easy enough to name your ciders after. My only initial concern over this cider is the low ABV %. Not that it’s a bad thing of course, but I’d have expected it to be a little higher. It’d be interesting to find out what they did to make it a lower % with this one. The other main info to note from the bottle is it’s made from 100% juice, medium/dry, sparkling and is made in the traditional way, with a slow fermentation throughout the winter. Overall, the bottle looks smart, has an elegant design and gives you just about enough information to keep you informed.

Having now opened this up, it poured sparkling, though not a hyperactive jump out of the bottle fizziness that some have. I just gave it 10 seconds and the fruity aroma was wafting towards me before I had even had a chance to get to it. On closer inspection, the smell is fairly rich, fruity and has a toffee apple feel to it. It’s actually a very enticing smell, although not my favourite rustic smell I love in a cider.

I take my first sip and you get the sweet apple feel at the forefront, which is then taken over by a light sour green apple type bite. This in turn has the sensation enhanced by the carbonation within the glass. Tannins feel on the low side with this one, though you can feel it slowly coming through amongst the sourness. The end of the taste is a light oak feeling and a mild lingering dryness. It feels on the dry end of medium, well-balanced and is just a light and easy drink. The one thing lacking for me is there’s not enough oomph and excitement about it in my opinion. Though I can see this being a decent summer refreshment more than anything else.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Patrick Huff said,

    Tell me about this Bristol Cider Shop. Alot of choices?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

