Oliver’s Posh Scrumpy Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Oliver’s
Cider Name: Posh Scrumpy
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 4.5%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Lightly chilled 750ml bottle
Smell: Rustic apples
Colour: Dull yellow/Orange
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Oliver’s
Date: 05/04/13

I’ve finally been feeling a lot better today and thankfully the weekend is now here. My other half is cooking a Mexican meal for a few of our friends and I thought I’d bring out a proper table cider to indulge in with the meal. The treat today is the Posh Scrumpy from Oliver’s.

This is the last bottle of cider from my Herefordshire trip and is made by one of my favourite producers, Oliver’s. The Posh Scrumpy was made specifically to celebrate the Queens Diamond Jubilee in 2012 and is a posh (i.e. champagne style) take on the traditional scrumpy cider. It’s bottle conditioned and of a lower % ABV (4.5%) than your traditional scrumpy, but that’s fairly standard from what I have seen of bottle conditioned ciders. Just hop over to France and it’s fairly standard in places. I’m expecting it to probably be light and a touch sweeter, but hopefully not having an overpowering fizz taking over the taste.

As it’s a Posh Scrumpy, I thought I’d give it the respect it deserves and use a posh glass. This poured fairly fizzy, has a dull yellow/orange colour and a gorgeous rustic apple aroma.

I take my first sip and wow what a flavour. It’s fairly sweet, has a full gorgeous apple flavour and is a delicate and honest drink. There’s low tannins, gorgeous bittersweet feeling and light sour tang to it. It’s certainly a drink to enjoy with a good meal. It’s one of the better table ciders I’ve had in a while. Even my other half, a devout wine drinker, really enjoyed this. She mentioned how appley it was, smooth and a cider she actually enjoys. I will certainly be having another.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 9/10

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Paulo said,

    I had this yesterday – gorgeous. The cork came out with a bang, though and a load of overflowing fizz. I bought more today from Oliver’s in Ocle Pychard, along with all sort of other ciders and perries.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

